About Hanson Bridgett

Gerald Marcus Fellowship

  • Print Page
  • Email Page
  • Share this page

Gerald Marcus Fellowship

Hanson Bridgett has long been committed to the principles of diversity. In 2002, Hanson Bridgett launched the Gerald D. Marcus Fellowship Fund at the University of California, Berkeley School of Law.

The Marcus Fund was established to further Hanson Bridgett's enduring commitment to promoting diversity within the legal profession. The fellowships are awarded to law students on the basis of financial need with priority given to underrepresented minorities.

The fellowships honor Gerald D. Marcus to recognize his contributions over the last 50 years to the promotion of diversity in the legal field. A 1941 graduate of University of California, Berkeley School of Law , Mr. Marcus is one of the founding partners of Hanson Bridgett and a long-time champion in the promotion of equal opportunity and diversity within the legal profession.

The goal set for The Marcus Fund is to generate sufficient income to award a three-year Gerald Marcus Fellowship to one entering law student each year. Both internal Hanson Bridgett employees and external contributors have supported this cause and we are hopeful that we will continue to broaden future support for The Marcus Fund.

Fellowship Recipients

  • 2019: Marissa Menakaya
  • 2018: Ashleigh Lussenden
  • 2017: David Fernandez
  • 2016: Joshua Le
  • 2015: Kristoff Williams
  • 2014: Juan Gardea
  • 2013: Tierra Moore Piens
  • 2011: Antonio Ingram
  • 2010: Anthony Bestafka-Cruz
  • 2009: Rachel Johnson
  • 2008: Shelby Myers
  • 2007: Veronica Velilla
  • 2006: Catherine Vel
  • 2005: Monique Liburd
  • 2004: Dawniell Fareria
  • 2003: Cheryl Kawezya Hutchinson
  • 2002: Nora Preciado

Our Commitment

We are dedicated to establishing a workforce that reflects the needs and interests of our clients and a work environment that provides opportunities for people with varied backgrounds. Our commitment begins with the law schools where we seek to recruit diverse candidates and support the needs of minority students.

thumbnail of ABA Disability Pledge for Change
ABA Disability Diversity in the
Legal Profession: A Pledge for Change

Member: Leadership Council on Legal Diversity


For More Information

Jennifer Martinez
Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer
Hanson Bridgett LLP
425 Market Street, 26th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105